Leonard Municipal Court

Driver’s Safety
If you are charged with a moving offense and do not have a CDL license, you may be eligible to take a driver’s safety course to dismiss the charge.

Before you complete the driver’s safety course you must: 

Enter a plea of guilty or no contest on Driver Safety Course paperwork.

Pay $144.00 in administrative fees (if in a school zone, the fee is $169.00).

Provide proof of insurance.

Provide a valid Texas Driver’s License or an active duty military ID.

Have not completed a driver’s safety course within 12 months of the date of the offense.


A request for Driver Safety Course may not be processed if the violation occurred while:

-Failing to give information at an accident scene.

-Leaving the scene of an accident. 

-Passing a school bus. 

  -Driving a commercial vehicle. 

-In a construction zone where workers were present.

-Driving 25 or more miles over the posted speed limit. 

  -Driving 95 miles per hour or more.

After you complete the above you will be given 90 days to complete the class and provide the court with:

1. The court copy of the certificate from completion. You may complete any driving safety course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency.

2. Present a certified copy of your driving record from the Department of Public Safety. You may obtain this from the State of Texas website. Type 3A is the required copy needed by the court.  http://texas.gov/  

Fail to Complete Driver’s Safety
If you do not take the course within the required 90 days and/or fail to present the court with any of the required documents, the court will schedule you for a show cause hearing. The show cause hearing will provide you an opportunity to explain to the judge why you failed to fulfill the requirements. The judge may, but is not required to, allow you to file the proper papers at that time. If you fail to appear at your show cause hearing it will result in a conviction, a fine will be assessed, and a warrant for your arrest will be issued.



To request drivers safety course contact the court at court@cityofleonard.net

or 903-587-3334.


Paperwork may be submitted to court@cityofleonard.net


Copyright © City of Leonard, Texas  2016. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM